Upcoming Hangout to discuss Skemp's Relational Understanding and Instrumental Understanding (1976)

Few things brighten my day more than seeing math teachers on social media seek out research:

Thanks to +Bryan Meyer, I quickly got pulled into this conversation. Together we decided to meet via Google+ Hangout this Sunday at 19:00 UTC (3 pm ET, noon PT) to talk about a classic article in mathematics education, Skemp's Relational Understanding and Instrumental Understanding, originally published in 1976 in Mathematics Teaching. If all goes according to schedule, I'll be joined by +Chris Robinson+Nat Banting+Nik Doran+Bryan Meyer, and perhaps some others in our 10-person Hangout. If you'd like to join us (which means you need to have read the article), keep your eye on my Google+ posts for the event invitation. I'll probably reshare it to the Mathematics Education Research and Mathematics Education (K-12) communities. If more than 10 show an interest, I think we'll just organize multiple Hangouts...somehow. Stay tuned to the invite on Sunday and be prepared to keep your options open.

Getting the Article

In my ideal world, research would be published via open access, and I could simply link to a copy of any article I wished to share. We don't totally live in that world (yet), but thanks to JSTOR's "Register and Read" program, a lot more research is open to the public. If you follow this link to a 2006 reprint of Skemp's article, you should be able to register or log into your JSTOR account and select the article to be placed on your virtual shelf. There are restrictions -- you can't download the article, the article must remain on your shelf for at least 14 days, and you can only have three articles on your shelf at once.

If none of this works for you, you're on your own.

Update (2013-04-07): The video and wrap-up of the Hangout is here: http://blog.mathed.net/2013/04/rysk-skemps-relational-understanding.html.